Monaco and The Grimaldis

Monday, April 11, 2005

The politics of Monaco have traditionally been under the autocratic control of the Prince of Monaco, and from its founding the principality was a monarchy ruled by the House of Grimaldi; however, with the creation of a Constitution in 1911, the Prince relinquished his autocratic rule and the principality became a constitutional monarchy. Though he remains the head of state, some of his former power is now devolved to several advisory and legislative bodies.
Constitution of Monaco

A first Constitution of Monaco was adopted in 1911 and a new one, awarded by Prince Rainier III on December 17, 1962, outlines legislative, judicial, and executive branches of government, which consist of several administrative offices and a number of councils. Despite having relinquished some of his formerly absolute power, the Prince of Monaco remains head of state and retains most of the country's governing power; however, the principality's judicial and legislative bodies may operate independent of his control.

Country name:
conventional long form: Principality of Monaco
conventional short form: Monaco
local long form: Principauté de Monaco
local short form: Monaco

Data code: MN

Government type: constitutional monarchy

Capital: Monaco-Ville

Administrative divisions: none; there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are four quarters (quartiers, singular - quartier); Fontvieille, La Condamine, Monaco-Ville, Monte-Carlo

Independence: 1297 (beginning of the rule by the House of Grimaldi)

National holiday: National Day, 19 November

Constitution: 17 December 1962

Legal system: based on French law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

Executive branch:
chief of state: Prince ALBERT II (since 6 April 2005); Heiress Presumptive Caroline, Princess of Hanover, sister of the monarch (born 23 January 1957)
head of government: Minister of State Patrick LECLERCQ
cabinet: Council of Government is under the authority of the monarch
elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; minister of state appointed by the monarch from a list of three French national candidates presented by the French Government

Legislative branch: unicameral National Council or Conseil National (24 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
elections: last held in February 2003 (next to be held NA February 2008)
election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Union for Monaco 21 - Rally for Monaco - National and Democratic Union 3

Judicial branch: Supreme Court or Tribunal Supreme, judges appointed by the monarch, some on the basis of nominations by the National Council

Political parties and leaders: Union for Monaco [Christophe SPILIOTIS] Rally for Monaco - National and Democratic Union or UND [Guy MAGNAN]

International organization participation: ACCT, ECE, IAEA, ICAO, ICRM, IFRCS, IHO, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, International Criminal Police Organization - Interpol, IOC, ITU, OPCW, OSCE, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, Council of Europe.

Source for this post:


Post a Comment

<< Home